The Taxation Practice Committee is to provide guidance and assistance to MIA members on matters of common interest exclusively relating to technical matters relevant to the tax profession as well as tax practice issues faced by tax practitioners with the aim of maintaining and enhancing their relevancy and professional competency.

Scope of the Committee

  1. To formulate and recommend to the Government comprehensive and constructive tax proposals for fiscal changes and licensing reforms consistent with the interest of the nation and the profession.
  2. To act as a conduit to allow our members to channel their views on technical and tax practice matters, and maintain dialogue with the relevant tax authorities.
  3. To monitor official statements on technical and tax practice matters and issue comments and circulars thereon, where appropriate.
  4. To issue regular tax information via circulars to all members.
  5. To coordinate reviews on the technical aspects of the tax legislation or draft tax legislation, as and when appropriate.
  6. To promote good practice etiquette, robust risk management as well as to encourage compliance with the specific licensing conditions applicable to tax practitioners.
  7. To engage in discussion with stakeholders relevant to the taxation profession, such as the Ministry of Finance (Tax Division), Inland Revenue Board, Royal Malaysia Customs Department
  8. To identify CPE programmes for the benefit of tax practitioners as well as to enhance the quality of tax practitioners’ work.


Tai Lai Kok

KPMG Tax Services Sdn Bhd


Amarjeet Singh

Asean Tax Leader, Partner
Ernst & Young Tax Consultants Sdn Bhd

Chandran T S Ramasamy

Tax Director
Deloitte Tax Services Sdn Bhd

Dr Veerinderjeet Singh

Non Executive Chairman
Tricor Services (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd

Dr Noor Sharoja Sapiei

Senior Lecturer
University of Malaya

Fan Kah Seong

Joint Secretary
Country Heights Holdings Bhd

Harvindar Singh

Harvey & Associates

Khor Yong Yong

Director, International Tax and Transfer Pricing

Renganathan Kannan

Executive Director

Saniza Said

Saniza & Co

Surin Segar Gnanasegaram

Senior Executive Vice President, Group Head (Tax)
Malayan Banking Berhad